Digesting Design

Friday Round-Up

Posted in Everything Else, Exhibitions by Paul on August 1, 2008

800x600_adidas_originals_02

Well I’ve had a pretty busy day today, rushing around all over central London getting things sorted. My portfolio is now all finalised/printed, with my CV and other self promotion that I am going to be sending out to companies not far behind. I’ve also been chasing up laminators/vinyl cutters and screen printers for a special something on my self promotion so watch this space. A photo of all my self promotion will be up soon!

I managed to check out the No. 6 London Adidas Concept store on Newburgh street just off Carnaby street and I’ve gotta say even though it’s smaller than the Berlin store, there were some amazing trainers in store. Adidas have worked with Patrick Laing/A=R to re-design the shop. Quote from the nice cardboard bound book I picked up, “The main reference point for the No. 6 re-design was the Japenense Metabolist movement, a 1960’s retort to western design ‘isms’.” The booklet includes the brief, sketches, project development and final store shots. So Germany or England’s concept stores? I would go with England’s.

I also checked out the Cork Street Annual Open Exhibition for Charity. Working for Children with Aids charity, the exhibition was a selection of contemporary paintings, photography, sculpture, original prints and mixed media from both famous and emerging artists. I found out about this exhibition at the London Graphics Centre. Some nice prints and photography, but not all my cup of tea.

www.corkstreetopenexhibition.co.uk

Leave a Reply

