Digesting Design

THIS IS Studio Review

Posted in Internships by Paul on March 14, 2009

photo00802

I finished up yesterday at THIS IS Studio, so just a short internship of two weeks. The guys, Barney, Richard and Dougal have been great to work with and it has been really interesting working alongside three young designers who have only had the studio for a few years straight after graduation. However, they are all on the ball, really enthusiastic and hard working, with lots of exciting current projects and more in the pipeline.

The studio was unfortunately broken into on Monday evening with a few computers going walkies so this week was a bit up and down in that sense, but I’ve had another great week. I’ve been helping Barney on some exhibition boards that the studio is doing for a convention in Los Angeles and not only have I put some more decent hours into Adobe Illustrator, but it was also great to get some experience at dealing with production companies, costing, quotes and all the rest. I also this week was helping Dougal re-create a booklet (which was not backed up on the computers that got stolen) which was really good, getting some good practice at type setting accurately.

It’s only been a few weeks, but I’ve leanrt lots from the trio and it was great to be back in a design studio. They gave me a Jan Tschichold book for my hard work, and have asked me to come back and help out on future projects which I’m super excited about, thanks guys.

Next stop…

www.thisisstudio.com

Leave a Reply

