Digesting Design

D&AD Student Awards

Posted in Competitions, Projects by Paul on March 23, 2009

karpa_4748096e2bb57

Well last week was meant to be my first week off from all the internships I’ve been doing, but of course I’m always working on extra projects and for the past month or so I have been working on the Crisis brief for the D&AD Students Awards 2009. The brief was to, “Create an innovative piece of direct mail that raises public awareness of homelessness and the work of the homeless charity Crisis.

With all the work ready and set up to go to the printers on Monday morning, I had a major snag when I got some pricey quotes back and it’s made me realise that unless you are getting things printed lithographic, digital printing is very limited. I decided to screen print my work. It would be a massive rush to get it all done, but I managed (without eating or stopping during Wednesday, Thursday and Friday in the day in fairness and with the help of fellow designer and printer Daniel Mather) to get the work finalised and delivered to D&AD in Vauxhall by 4.30pm (deadline 5pm).

photo00811

4 colour double sided 630 x 455mm on 270gsm GF Smith stock, folded, finalised and presented all somehow in just under 4 days. I still loved doing it even though I was super stressed all week. Last year I was rushing about with the D&ADs because I was trying to do too much, but this year I was rushing around because I have spent a lot more time and effort into the design side of my ideas – screen printing it felt very good as well – another step to getting back into printing.

www.dandad.org/studentawards09

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

