Digesting Design

First week at Wieden+Kennedy

Posted in Internships by Paul on June 5, 2009

DSC00346

DSC00349

I’ve had internships so far with Print Club, Not Actual Size, Pentagram Berlin, Cunning and THIS IS Studio on my year out and now I am in Tokyo on my 6th internship at the creative and prolific agency Wieden+Kennedy. Now living in Tokyo along with being in Berlin previously have been and will be great learning curves looking back on London during my year out, which in a few weeks time, last year, was when it all began.

So I arrived in Tokyo last Thursday and the first week at W+K has flown by; Tokyo is really growing on me. The studio is located in Roppongi, generally known for being the sleaze area which come night is the case, but during the day it’s a great location to be working in. The studio itself is a behemoth of a five floored building and I am working in Eric Cruz’s (the creative director, who I set the placement up with) team on the first floor alongside all the other art directors. The rest of the designers are down in the basement which is a great space also. I am also working alongside Andrea, the other intern from Switzerland, so it’s nice being able to share my thoughts on projects and ideas with her as well.

This week I’ve been put straight into action which is great and what I hoped for, working on a cover and contents page for a book and mobile phone skin designs for W+K LAB (the music label run alongside the agency projects); something that I have never done before so it’s good to be learning about that at the same time. Today we had a massive new identity brief. The whole agency attended and I listened via a translator which was a new experience for me as well. I finished off the week with a quick design for a postcard for another client, presented already later in the evening. Like this, everything at W+K and Tokyo in general seems to go a million miles at once. I’ve got lots on for next week already.

I’ll have some more stories from Tokyo soon and of course the monthly reviews of W+K so watch this space. An ongoing set of photographs I’m taking including more shots of the W+K studio can be found on my Flickr page here, so enjoy. Finally, a blog entry about me and the rest of the new faces at W+K Tokyo can be found on their blog here.

www.wktokyo.jp

www.wktokyolab.com

www.wktokyo.jp/blog

DSC00353

DSC00355

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pr3mise said, on June 8, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Looks absolutely amazing man – you’re super lucky.
    NEED to go to Tokyo soon.


Leave a Reply

