Digesting Design

Type Tarts for Wallpaper* + KK Outlet

Posted in Everything Else, Exhibitions, Projects by Paul on June 13, 2009

TYPETART[1]-1

The Type Tarts project I worked on has now been publicly released coinciding with Wallpaper*‘s July ‘Sex Issue‘. The project was originally run by UK Type for promotion and to raise awareness of the St. Brides Library in London, the printing and typographical shrine.

Wallpaper* have now released all 450 tart cards online that were created by myself, other students, established designers, agencies and studios; there are some great ones in there. My one can be found here, (they have censored out my phone number, I was hoping to get ‘calls’). I worked with Baskerville. The hands and fingers are used because Baskerville was created in the Baroque period and this was when ‘fists‘ were also introduced, typographic hand symbols. ‘Mature‘ as Baskerville is an old and experienced typeface and ‘always on consistent form‘ because that is how it’s designed. The rest of the concept is obviously based around the ‘tart‘ side of things so I’ll leave you to ‘fill in the gaps‘. I screen printed the cards in various inks and on a range of papers. I submitted to the project the candy pink ink on yellow mount card, however I have lots more variations which will all be going into the project section of my new website, later in the year so keep an eye out for that.

98_PaulJenkins0012

As well as all this, I also posted on here about the second lot of posters me and Dan printed as an extension of the project, which you can see again here. Unfortunately we wanted to get them printed ‘flip lenticularly (when the image moves on the page), an example of this can be seen here. But after some promising quotes from a printers, they didn’t pull through which was a real shame. So instead I split up the three proposed frames and again screen printed them. Me and Dan collaborated on the design using the typeface Caslon. ‘You Can Take My‘, ‘Virginity‘ (represented, by the ‘heddera flueron’ which is the typographical flower that was used to break up paragraphs, a flower being the symbol for virginity) and ‘Any Way You Want‘, gruesome! These will also be going into the project section of my website later in the year. And I have some more plans for further extension of the project so watch this space.

Check out Wallpaper*’s July issue for a feature on the project and KK Outlet will be hosting the exhibition for the Type Tarts from the 22nd of June onwards so go and check it out. Unfortunately I can’t attend it as Tokyo calls, but I will post up some photos of the opening night when I get them. There are also plans to make a book out of the project I hear as well, great stuff.

www.stbride.org

www.uktype.com

www.wallpaper.com/sex-issue/tart-cards

KK Outlet’s Facebook event page can be found here.

Leave a Reply

